Team Kilimanjaro Hot

Team Kilimanjaro   August 08, 2012  
 
0.0
 
9.9 (8)
4353   0   8   0   0   0

User reviews

8 reviews

 
(8)
7-9 stars
 
(0)
5-7 stars
 
(0)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
1-3 stars
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
9.9
 
9.7  (8)
 
10.0  (8)
 
10.0  (8)
 
10.0  (8)
 
9.4  (8)
 
9.8  (8)
 
9.9  (8)
 
10.0  (8)
 
10.0  (8)
 
10.0  (8)
Access restricted to members. To continue register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
(Updated: September 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Value for Money 
 
10.0
Intelligence of Route Configuration 
 
10.0
Ascent Strategy 
 
10.0
Guidance from Climb Leader 
 
10.0
Attentiveness of Staff 
 
10.0
Discipline of Staff 
 
10.0
Courtesy / Friendliness of Staff 
 
10.0
Integrity of Management 
 
10.0
Variety of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Equipment 
 
10.0
Condition of Equipment 
 
10.0
Spaciousness of Tents 
 
10.0
General Standard of Organisation 
 
10.0
Cohesion of Staff 
 
10.0
Enthusiasm of Staff 
 
10.0
Perceived Job-Satisfaction of Staff 
 
10.0
Company Ethos 
 
10.0
Group Atmosphere 
 
10.0
Quality of Pre-Climb Advice 
 
10.0
Speed of Response to Correspondence 
 
10.0

Wonderful Experience! Could not have been better!!!

We were a large group, which meant a large support staff. Our Chief Guide, Jonas Gerald did a fantastic job ensuring that everything ran smoothly throughout our ascent up the mountain (via the TK Rongai Route). The assistant guides were fantastic - Samwel Minja, Yusuph Omary and Ismaili Mohamed. All very experienced and incredibly knowledgeable. They were a professional, friendly, fun group that was easy to talk to and to spend seven days with in close quarters. The cook, Danny Peter was awesome - accommodating a member of our group that had dietary restrictions with fantastic alternatives. "My" porter, Godfry, would always greet me at the camp site with a HUGE smile - he would run over, take my backpack and show me to my tent. The wait staff, Chas and another who's name I unfortunately cannot recall, made meals fun - always smiling, having us guess the soup of the day or whatever the main meal was to be.

I just can't say enough about the entire support staff - all THIRTY TWO of them!!! I do credit Jonas for keeping the entire operation running smoothly, the logisitics of organizing such a team so successfully is incredible. I also credit Jonas for ensuring that our entire group made it to the Uruhu summit in good health and spirits! We had several "summit porters" in addition to the assistant guides that helped us to Uruhu - I am not sure we would have all made it without their encouragement and support. I was specifically assisted by Assistant Guide Yusuph, who carried my bag from Huntman's (?) cave to the summit; Assistant Guide Sam and summit porter Omari Benjamin who helped me quickly "ski" through the scree on the way down the mountain.

As for the equipment (tents, sleep pads, bags, summit jackets, etc) - it was top notch, although there was an occasional ornery zipper on the supper tent :). The sleeping tents were large, spacious, the sleep pads thick and cushy. The jackets, gloves, sleeping bags all very warm and clean.

I should mention that there was an issue with one of our group member's luggage (thanks Ethiopian Air for mishandling). Team Kilimanjaro worked hard to find the bag for us. Although it was never located, we were able to outfit the member with extra rented equipment AND extra clothing that was provided by one of the assistant guides (Sam) and Jonas. Incredible kindness on their part!

Forgot to mention - before we made it back to Kibo Hut when descending through the scree, our wait staff was waiting for us with large cups of super refreshing mango/guava juice - I didn't see any other company waiting on their climbers with such a treat! It was a nice surprise. Also, I will never forget having to repeat Jonas with "uh-huh, uh-huh" many times throughout the day so he could take pictures for the Team Kili blog site, which was a great way for friends and family to check in on all of us!

Bottom line - If you are thinking about tackling Kili, I don't think that you can go wrong with Team Kilimanjaro!!

Kilimanjaro Tour Operators

Route Climbed
Rongai
Name of Mountain Guide
Jonas Gerald
Date of Summit Attempt
September 07, 2013
Did you reach Uhuru Summit?
Yes
Name of Climb Booking Agent
David Squire/Team Kilimanjaro
Number of Climbers in Your Group
9
How many of the group reached the summit
9.00
Number of Days Spent on Kilimanjaro
7
After the ascent
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Value for Money 
 
10.0
Intelligence of Route Configuration 
 
10.0
Ascent Strategy 
 
10.0
Guidance from Climb Leader 
 
10.0
Attentiveness of Staff 
 
10.0
Discipline of Staff 
 
10.0
Courtesy / Friendliness of Staff 
 
10.0
Integrity of Management 
 
10.0
Variety of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Equipment 
 
10.0
Condition of Equipment 
 
10.0
Spaciousness of Tents 
 
10.0
General Standard of Organisation 
 
10.0
Cohesion of Staff 
 
10.0
Enthusiasm of Staff 
 
10.0
Perceived Job-Satisfaction of Staff 
 
10.0
Company Ethos 
 
10.0
Group Atmosphere 
 
10.0
Quality of Pre-Climb Advice 
 
10.0
Speed of Response to Correspondence 
 
10.0

One year on...Kilimanjaro

It has nearly been over one year since I signed up with Team Kilimanjaro to climb Kilimanjaro and safari across the Tanzanian plains. I thoroughly enjoyed my experiences on both adventures but I really want to send through my comments on the professionalism and experienced your guides that lead us to summit at Uhuru Peak.

We had two guides, John and Alex and a team to get us up that mountain. I honestly don't think I would have made it up their without our guides, porters and cooks. They made it fun, enjoyable, educational and thoroughly an experience that I will take to my grave and beyond.

I cannot recommend this company and team enough. Every family member and friend that I can or wants to speak about attempting the climb I always recommend this company to them!

Kilimanjaro Tour Operators

Route Climbed
Machame
Name of Mountain Guide
John
Date of Summit Attempt
January 17, 2012
Did you reach Uhuru Summit?
Yes
Name of Climb Booking Agent
Bianca Angelucci
Number of Climbers in Your Group
3
How many of the group reached the summit
3.00
Number of Days Spent on Kilimanjaro
7
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Value for Money 
 
9.5
Intelligence of Route Configuration 
 
10.0
Ascent Strategy 
 
10.0
Guidance from Climb Leader 
 
10.0
Attentiveness of Staff 
 
10.0
Discipline of Staff 
 
10.0
Courtesy / Friendliness of Staff 
 
10.0
Integrity of Management 
 
10.0
Variety of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Equipment 
 
10.0
Condition of Equipment 
 
10.0
Spaciousness of Tents 
 
9.5
General Standard of Organisation 
 
10.0
Cohesion of Staff 
 
10.0
Enthusiasm of Staff 
 
10.0
Perceived Job-Satisfaction of Staff 
 
10.0
Company Ethos 
 
10.0
Group Atmosphere 
 
10.0
Quality of Pre-Climb Advice 
 
10.0
Speed of Response to Correspondence 
 
10.0

8 Days TK Lemosho, A Life Time Experience

An Experience of a Life Time is the first thing that comes to my mind after I have completed the 8 days trek lead by Frank John and Julius Mollel. Through out the 8 days, I must say that the climb team have made me feel so much at ease and feel so comfortable that I did not feel too much of the inconvenience during the entire 8 days of trek in the mountains.

I have rented a sleeping bag from them and it was surprisingly clean and new, though it was a little tight but overall it was comfortable.

The food is good and the cook Elisante and the waiters are really on their toes keeping food and water clean as a top priority as non of us have had any issues with food related issues till today and we have been home for 4 days now.

"Hakuna Matata" (No Problem) is the tag line our guide Frank likes to use whenever we are having discussions, he is always positive and accommodating . But what is important is, he never over commits himself.

As for Julius who is the assistant guide, he was with me all the way to the summit, reminding me to hydrate myself and keeping the focus till I achieved the goal.

Both Frank and Julius took over our backpack from the start of the summiting climb. Their commitment to ensure that they both does their best for their climbers so we do not end up having a wasted trip is respectable.

Through out the 8days the porters and crews were all doing their very best to ensure that the tents were up before we arrive and the toilet were cleaned after used and looking after the tents when we were out for our acclimatisation climb.

Finally, I conclude that Team Kilimanjaro did not disappoint me at all for my entire climb experience with them.

Kilimanjaro Tour Operators

Route Climbed
Lemosho
Name of Mountain Guide
Frank John
Date of Summit Attempt
August 21, 2013
Did you reach Uhuru Summit?
Yes
Name of Climb Booking Agent
Climb Killimanjaro
Number of Climbers in Your Group
2
How many of the group reached the summit
2.00
Number of Days Spent on Kilimanjaro
8
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Value for Money 
 
10.0
Intelligence of Route Configuration 
 
10.0
Ascent Strategy 
 
10.0
Guidance from Climb Leader 
 
10.0
Attentiveness of Staff 
 
10.0
Discipline of Staff 
 
10.0
Courtesy / Friendliness of Staff 
 
10.0
Integrity of Management 
 
10.0
Variety of Food Served 
 
9.5
Quality of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Equipment 
 
10.0
Condition of Equipment 
 
10.0
Spaciousness of Tents 
 
10.0
General Standard of Organisation 
 
10.0
Cohesion of Staff 
 
10.0
Enthusiasm of Staff 
 
10.0
Perceived Job-Satisfaction of Staff 
 
10.0
Company Ethos 
 
10.0
Group Atmosphere 
 
10.0
Quality of Pre-Climb Advice 
 
10.0
Speed of Response to Correspondence 
 
10.0

Team kilimanjaro

We would like to highly recommend team kili. Jonas, Jackson and the rest of the team were incredible. They made us feel welcome right away. Keres made incredible for and alouise was so friendly. They supported us so well and we felt like everyone truly cared about our summit experience. On the summit night our guides also sang in Swahili and we had Amani with us to help with a day pack as well as Jackson and Jonas. The three of them sang so beautiful. We will never forget our summit night. Jonas went above and beyond to be sure to share knowledge of the mountain and the animals and plant life. He also took many memorable photos. We can't recommend team kili strongly enough. Thank you to Jonas, Jackson, Amani, alouise, Benjamin, Keres, Jacob, ernesti, Danny...the list goes on. What an incredible team. Jonas watched our health closely and they all made us eat eat eat. A trek like this is challenging physically and mentally and the altitude risk is scary. However, with a team like team kili you can relax and enjoy the mountain knowing you are in good hands.

Kilimanjaro Tour Operators

Route Climbed
Lemosho
Name of Mountain Guide
Jonas Gerald
Date of Summit Attempt
October 18, 2012
Did you reach Uhuru Summit?
Yes
Name of Climb Booking Agent
Websitr
Number of Climbers in Your Group
2
Number of Days Spent on Kilimanjaro
8
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.9
Value for Money 
 
9.0
Intelligence of Route Configuration 
 
10.0
Ascent Strategy 
 
10.0
Guidance from Climb Leader 
 
10.0
Attentiveness of Staff 
 
10.0
Discipline of Staff 
 
10.0
Courtesy / Friendliness of Staff 
 
10.0
Integrity of Management 
 
10.0
Variety of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Equipment 
 
9.0
Condition of Equipment 
 
9.0
Spaciousness of Tents 
 
10.0
General Standard of Organisation 
 
10.0
Cohesion of Staff 
 
10.0
Enthusiasm of Staff 
 
10.0
Perceived Job-Satisfaction of Staff 
 
10.0
Company Ethos 
 
10.0
Group Atmosphere 
 
10.0
Quality of Pre-Climb Advice 
 
10.0
Speed of Response to Correspondence 
 
10.0

AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE!

We climbed Kili in September 2013. Team Kilimanjaro's website is brilliant with heaps of information that prepared us for the climb. Bianca was a pleasure to deal with - always replying to my emails promptly and professionally.

Our guide, Jackson Mtui, and his team were amazing. We are full of admiration for the effort that they all put into helping tourists like us fulfill our dreams, enduring far worse conditions and putting us to shame in the way they do it all with such ease and good grace (with none of the sophisticated equipment).

We appreciated Jackson's care and attention and felt safe in his hands. He was responsive to any issues or concerns that we raised. For example, when my brother (who is ~196cm & 100kg) said he found the sleeping bag too small, Jackson tracked down a spare sleeping bag from another TK group and created a "double-sized" sleeping bag by zipping the two bags together! Jackson's good knowledge of the plants and wildlife also added to our enjoyment of the trek. We liked his calm, reassuring manner and he appeared to have the respect of all his team.

The food was excellent - we were amazed to have a different soup for each meal & impressed with Exaud's culinary skills considering the difficult conditions & limited equipment he had to prepare & cook with.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Team Kilimanjaro to family and friends & hope that one day we may return to Africa to travel further. Our sons, are already talking about planning a trip and hope that one day Jackson will also be their guide to the summit!

Kilimanjaro Tour Operators

Route Climbed
Rongai
Name of Mountain Guide
Jackson Mtui
Date of Summit Attempt
September 20, 2013
Did you reach Uhuru Summit?
Yes
Name of Climb Booking Agent
Team Kilimanjaro
Number of Climbers in Your Group
3
How many of the group reached the summit
3.00
Number of Days Spent on Kilimanjaro
7
Was this review helpful to you? 
8 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2  
 
Powered by JReviews